There is a common are of debate among parents about whether should we allow children to
make their own choices on everyday matters or not. According to some people, children
should be allowed to decide what they should eat, wear or watch. However, others believe
that if children have the freedom to make their own choices, they will grow up into selfish
individuals. In my opinion, children definitely have the right to make their own choices on
everyday matters, but since they are too young to know what is good or bad for them so
parents should help them in making the right decisions.
Firstly, decisions making is a really important skill for children to drive their life to sucess.
The most important things is they have to know how to make the right choice about their
lifestyle and future career. When they can make their own choices, they will be able to learn
how to take the responsibility for their things. Needless to say, dealing with problems as a
child can turn them into a problem-solving master in the future.
Secondly, when they have their own freedom, they might not consider the feeling of the
others. For example, if they want a new toy and tell their parents to buy it for them, if their
parents allow them to have their way all the way, they will not consider the economic
situation of their parents. Then they will definitely grow into a selfish person who does not
care for others. Therefore, the most important thing is parents have to set the limit of the
freedom that the children can have.
In conclusion, in order to prevent children from being selfish, i believe that parents should
teach them how to respect the feelings of others instead of prohibiting them from making
their own choice about their lifestyles because they have rights to do it.