Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is imporant for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

A society must have responsible individuals who takes care of the wholesome growth and development. In some situations, people believe allowing children to make decisions on everyday chores may not provide responsible individuals, whereas, it may make them a selfish individual. While other group of people claim children should be given opportunity to decide on the important situations that involve their welfare. This essay intends to discuss and provide examples favoring both perspectives.

On the one hand, Children are grown in an environment where parents decide on their child’s behalf. If young individuals were given chance to decide on their daily activites such as the food,clothes and the contents of their entertainment, it might have some negative impacts on them. For instance, children may want things that may not be good for their mental and physical health. However, if they were given the autonomy to choose from early age, they might throw tantrums unnecessarily. While most people believe, if this was practiced by their parents continuously and it might potentially develop them into selfish individuals.

Conversely, other set of individuals firmly believe, it is crucial to give opportunity and let those children to decide on matters that might have an impact on them. In addition, people argue children have the right to decide on such matters. The reason put forth by them directly contradicts with the ideology of the first mentioned group. They firmly believe giving autonomy at young age can benefit the brains development and aid them to tackle any difficult situations in future. In addition, it might teach confidence, self respect, and self-care.

I am convinced that, parents should have control over the certain situations, that may have a bad influcence on their children day to day life. However, they also need to provide support and allow enough autonomy in situations where their voice mean the most.

To summarise, although most parents want their children to be compassionate individual who cares and respect others, they still have to be little lenient on hearing their opinion on choices that might have impact on their lifes. Hence, they can grow both as a responsible citizen of the society with self confidence.