Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Watching TV has been considered as an effective way to acquire knowledge and some people argue children could benfit a lot by doing so both at home and at school. In my opinion, although some television programs can be educating, too much screen time can be harmful for children.

First of all, studying by television results in the lack of communication, which is critical for effective learning. Television could offer children the existing knowledge, but unlike teacher, it can’t guide them according to their questions and respondings. Thus, children are prone to give up when they meet some difficulties. In this way, they can never have a deep understanding of the knowledge.

Another problem is that the absence of teachers means the lack of monitoring. When watching television, children can be easily distracted by something else. For example, when they are sitting in the sofa watching TV, their pets may appear and attract their attention. It is unlikely to stay focused during the process of watching TV, considering there are so many distractions like smart phones and snacks in these days. But with the supervision of teachers, such situation can be avoided.

On the other hand, I do agree some knowledge can be taught in a more vivid way by television. Television can teach children knowledge by pictures and videos. For example, watching the actual life of animals can leave students a deeper impression than reading from books.

In conclusion, because of the lack of communication and monitoring, watching TV is not the best option to study effectively, although sometimes children can learn vividly from it.