Some people believe that children should start school as early as possible, while others believe that children should begin school when they are at least seven years old. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views about the most appropriate age for children to commence their schooling. While some people argue that this age should be at least seven, I believe that it is more beneficial for children to attend school at a relatively earlier age.

There are several convincing reasons for children to start school earlier. To start with, young children have considerably higher ability to learn things. Studies have shown that much of the brain development takes place in the first five years after birth. Hence, if children start school at age 4 or 5, they can take better advantage of this brain development and improve their learning outcomes. It benefits parents as well when children start school earlier. In many families now both parents work and they do not have enough time to look after their children. If these kids can be in school during day time where they can learn from their teachers and peers, it is an arrangement that benefits everyone. Children who start school at an early age also tend to have better social skills.

Of course, staying at home until they are at least 7 allows kids to have more family time. They will also be able to achieve better health because their exposure to pathogens is limited as they rarely step out of the home. In addition, at home, they will be able to eat hot and nutritious meals at regular intervals. Even so, in my opinion, these advantages pale in comparison to the benefits of starting school early. Also, young children spend only around 2-3 hours a day at school and hence it is unlikely to have any real impact on their bonding with their parents or siblings.

In conclusion, although staying at home until seven years old enables children to bond better with their parents and achieve health benefits, attending school relatively earlier is more beneficial for them, since this can improve their confidence and social skills.