Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both these views and give your opinion?

Some people believe that crime is due to the personal nature of each person. I admit it is a correct idea but I believe the bigger problem that leads to crimes comes from social problems and poverty.

On the issue of crimes many people believe that it is the individual’s nature to decide whether someone becomes a criminal. Firstly, some argue that an individual who is cruel turns to crime more easily than a kind person. For instance, a child who is bullying others at school more likely to become a violent criminal in the future. Secondly, people with bad characteristics such as being lazy or stabbing others in the back may become criminals in the future, those who choose to make easy money without really putting effort. These are people who choose to trade illegal national goods in order to earn a high profit from their addicts, or worse, they can steal other people’s valuable assets to support their expenses.

Although the dark side of each individual leads to wrongdoing, social problems and poverty still are the main causes of crime. Going into this issue, a country with a high unemployment rate, then their people have a standard of living below average, which makes people easily lose themselves. More specifically, they are tempted by illegal actions such as robbing or murdering other people in exchange for meals for families or individuals. Considering the scope of a small family, the father often has acts of scolding and violence against the mother in front of a child. Not only leading to severe psychological trauma to the child but also birds of a feather flock together.

In conclusion, it is true that personality characteristics play a role in making a person commit criminal acts. However, personal observation has led me to believe that social context has a bigger influence.