Some people believe that eventually all jobs will be done by artificially intelligent robots. What is your opinion?

In future, artificial intelligent robots might ultimately take over tasks performed by humans. It may be possible that unskilled routine chores will be performed by robots, but activities that needs human involvement cannot be completely taken over by bots. This essay will discuss why only few jobs will be carried out by people and most of them will be performed by machines.

To begin with, many daily activities which do not require human skills may be carried out by bots. Large multinational companies may deploy these operating intelligent robots which will be less expensive and quick solution than hiring and training human employees. For example, many supermarkets in India use an automated user interactive bot at the cashier counter instead of a person doing the billing. Additionally, these pre-programmed bots have zero error rate compared to high-rate human errors. For these reasons, human employees will be eventually replaced by computer operated robotic workforce.

On the other hand, there are few jobs that needs active involvement of humans that can never be undertaken by these mechanical bots. These jobs require human touch or social, psychological and physical skills which the machines cannot take-up. For example, a medical counsellor’s job requires mental and social skills which bots do not possess. Hence, few jobs will always need human intervention and cannot be completely automated.

In conclusion, the robots will eventually cut down human employment and replace humans in most of the jobs. In my opinion, although most of the jobs might be taken over by programmed bots, few jobs will always need human touch to be completed.