Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Attending higher education is a matter of debate on a global scale. These days, many people hold schools of thought about whether tertiary education fees should be covered by governments without considering the financial status of students. While there are reasonable arguments to support free university tuition, I strongly believe that counter-arguments should be considered.

There are many reasons why university tuition fees should be abolished. First of all, it is advantageous to students, especially poor students because they will probably have more opportunities to find jobs and have better living conditions. Additionally, the free-college policy will bring to more educated workforce with high skills, resulting in a prosperous economy and a civilized society.

In spite of the mentioned benefits, the downsides of pursuing university without tuition fees should not be ignored. On the individual level, it has negative impacts on bachelor’s degree holders. The number of laborers may surge if there are more and more university graduates. As a result, more graduated students will be probably unemployed despite having university degree. Furthermore, on the social level, the free-college policy can put a strain on the state budget, which can lead to the increase in taxes and the decrease in welfare.

In conclusion, while the provision of free education likely has a plentiful of benefits, I believe that governments should not waive tuition for everyone.