A few individuals are of the opinion that examinations are an inconvenient method of checking the ability of academicians and consider semester method to be adopted in its place. On the other hand, some believe that the age-old method of testing is necessary to ensure discipline among students and good grades. I firmly disagree with the view proposed in the statement. My inclination towards the same will be discussed in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, the foremost argument in the support of examinations is that they can serve as a feedback mechanism for the teachers. Professors can know about the strong and weak areas of students in their subjects and can help them to improve their performance. Exams also can sharpen the intellectual abilities of the pupils. Under the pressure of examinations, the student will revise the topics discussed in the class and would also apply his own thinking to pass the exam with excellent grades.

The secondary reason to favor examinations over semester system is that it makes students ready for the future by making them learn important skills in life such as time management and effective planning. It is indispensable for an examinee to plan his schedule properly before the exams in order to complete the course efficiently. Another benefit of examinations is that a student who scores well in schools and colleges can get better job offers as it is mandatory to obtain a certain percentage of marks to sit in the placement interviews.

On the contrary, there are also certain merits of continuous assessment that should not be neglected. For instance, due to the semester system, the burden on students is reduced as they can study the whole syllabus in parts. They can learn from their mistakes in the previous semester and strive to improve them in the next. Overall grade of a student is also not affected as grading is done separately for each semester. This method of learning also increases awareness among the academicians as they begin to recognize their strengths and weaknesses.

Thus, in order to draw a conclusion, it can be said that examinations are necessary so that there can be overall development of the student. Nonetheless, the teachers should incorporate the best of both the methods while teaching so that students can perform better while enjoying learning.