Some people believe that hobbies need to be challenging to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that people are only keen on difficult hobbies. I disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

On the one hand, challenging hobbies might seem exciting for the sense of satisfaction people have when they manage to do them successfully. Human nature is to feel fascinated when facing a challenge and being forced to come up with solutions to overcome this. Hence, it is reasonable that activities requiring advanced skill and knowledge provide a certain degree of satisfaction. Film editing is an example of a leisure activity that demands arduous work. In my case, it took me over two years to become a professional film editor. However, it is worth my effort and time, and I enjoy it much more than my first time editing a video.

On the other hand, hobbies do not need to be hard to be enjoyed by the majority of the public. Numerous easy activities have the same efficiency in relaxation as hard ones. Many people, especially juveniles, consider surfing the Internet and interacting via social media platforms exciting, and obviously, these require little equipment and are easy to do. Another point worth considering is that having a difficult hobby sometimes causes more stress rather than relieves it. Some activities require both inborn talent and persistent practice, which means that no matter how hard people try, it is possible that they cannot complete the difficulty level of a game.

In conclusion, although difficult hobbies might provide a certain degree of relaxation, hobbies don't need to become hard.