Any country should be able to sell goods to other countries without the restrictions of the government. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there has been an increasingly popularised opinion that enterprises should be able to sell goods on the international market without any governmental restrictions. Although this practice seems beneficial to a certain extent, I believe that the government should apply several restricted policies for the following rationales.

On the one hand, opponents of governmental control on cross-national trading emphasize customer satisfaction. As goods and production flow freely to various countries, people have a greater number of choices, ranging from Europe to Asia. Moreover, if there are any complaints about these products, the customers can receive compensation and an apology for the mistake. For instance, Toyota is one of the leading companies specializing in car manufacturing. Years ago, the engine in one product line did not work properly, they immediately recalled all the products, repaired it, and let customers own it for free. They always try to enhance customer service in order to avoid any potential collapse.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned virtues of the freedom to trade internationally, there is an ethical issue related to its adverse effect on domestic firms, which justifies the existence of policies on cross-border trading. Once multinational giants break into the domestic market, small businesses might disappear, which can lead to another miserable situation. Businesses with 500 employees account for 44% of the US economic activities, according to one recent report, and they employ almost half of the American workers. It means that if those go out of business, thousands of workers can be made redundant. The nation’s overall economy and living standards of the general public can be enormously affected.

In conclusion, while there are several advantages relating to financial institutions selling goods freely, they should adhere to the trading policies introduced by the government. It is recommended that the authority impose import taxes to restrict multinational trade.