Any country should be able to sell goods to other countries without the restrictions of the government. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that government should give organizations and producers unlimited authority to export goods to other nations. Personally, for the most part, I agree with this statement although there are cases when this could be wrong.

First and foremost, foreign trade brings about enormous financial resources, especially to developing countries like Vietnam. In other words, by selling goods abroad, a nation could utilise many of its plentiful resources which are valuable in other countries, therefore, creating noticeable income sources. For instance, in Vietnam, the Basa fish lives in large quantities but is undermined by the locals. However, when exporting this fish species to the US, it soon turned out to be a good deal as the US people found it to taste good. Secondly, conducting transactions with foreign importers is also an incentive for domestic producers to improve their goods to meet international standards. The exporting of Bac Giang lychee to Japan is a telling example of this since the indigenous farmers have applied Vietgap criteria to create not only delicious but also safe-and-healthy-to-eat fruit, which they have never done before. Moreover, by selling goods to other territories, domestic firms could bring about a source of foreign currency, which is extremely important when exchanging essential goods like oil or gases as these types of goods nearly have to be sold and purchased in the US dollar.

On the other hand, in some circumstances, exporting goods should be put under the government’s control, namely, the economic crisis, the food crisis and more recently, the medical crisis. In these cases, necessary products such as face masks need to be kept in the country to avoid social unrest. Take Covid-19 as an example, when this epidemic spread widely in Vietnam, some face-mask-manufacturing companies exported these goods to other countries which offered higher prices than the domestic market, thus causing a medical items shortage among people and many sellers even worsening the situation by pushing the price to an unaffordable cost.

In conclusion, there are various benefits that a nation could have if the government apply no restriction to selling goods abroad, however, sometimes, control and legislation are still required to keep the national market functioning properly.