Bosses are paid higher than employees. Some people say that this is necessary, others claim that it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

In many organizations, the higher level of hierarchy people gets, the more they are paid. And while some people find the notion essential, others, however, oppose it. In my opinion, I support this policy as the higher salaries that bosses earn come with more responsibilities and dedication to work.

The main disadvantage of paying managers and high-status staff more than other employees is dissatisfaction among the workforce, which later might lead to lower productivity. From the perspective of some workers, due to the fact that both employers' and employees’ working hours are similar to each other and each position has its own hardship, they should not have a difference in their income. Therefore, if the organization pay the bosses more, the objection could arise among the bosses’ subordinates, causing worse performance and even lower loyalty as the workers feel that they are not being appreciated for all the contribution that they have done to the company. And this is true in authoritarian cultures like Vietnam where in some private companies, the managers are actually younger and have fewer years of experience when compares with their staff, therefore, dissatisfaction could happen among the workforce.

However, despite some protests, I still agree with the higher wages that bosses get as higher positions attach to more responsibilities, more tasks and of course, more skills. As people climb up the career ladder, their jobs would become more demanding to complete, let alone to finish them excellently. Moreover, the manager position also requires people who take it to master many soft skills like communication skill, problem-solving skill and time management skill, which few people can acquire. As a result, higher pay is totally reasonable for all the effort that they have put into their job. For instance, Facebook, a world-famous company, offers an astronomically high salary for important positions in the managerial apparatus, however, most of Facebook’s senior managers do not have time for their families and friends and their days are surrounded by the firm’s tasks.

In summary, people hold mixed views about whether or not companies should pay bosses more. In my point of view, although there might be objections among employees, higher levels of wages are still needed to reward bosses due to their dedication and hard work.