Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Globalisation, along with the application of digital technology, has facilitated the information sharing among academics and businesspeople, regardless of nationality and whereabouts. I agree that the easy access to valuable information can foster innovation and address some problems worldwide, despite the risk that some information can be misused.

We can find solutions to problems easily if we have unlimited access to different databases, such as those which contain information about how to cure diseases, prevent famines and alleviate air pollution. This kind of knowledge is not adequately possessed by people living in some poorest sections of the world, and this is why they are still afflicted by some preventable diseases and problems that can otherwise be avoided.

Some people have a conservative attitude towards this because they are afraid that their knowledge and intellectual properties can be exploited. This is particularly understandable in the business world, where companies are not willing to place information about their managerial skills, software and patented products on the Internet. Their competitiveness would be undermined if their global competitors could acquire such information.

I would, however, view this issue in a positive light. While it is up to business owners to decide what information should be withheld, they should exchange their ideas with their peers in the same industry. It can create an atmosphere worldwide, in which designers, inventors and engineers can mine each other’s information with permissions and come up with creative solutions, without having to advance their research alone through trial and error.

In conclusion, it may not be practical to require all people to give up the ownership of their essential knowledge, but they should accept that sharing in a globalised world is better than concealing information.