Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about sharing information which may be invaluable towards some individuals. While many people believe that information should be shared widely, I would argue that some information has to be kept in secret.

On the one hand, there are some benefits from public disclosure of information. First of all, since it was taken from experience, even many experiments, information is usually high-quality. This helps enrich people‘s knowledge, which contributes to develop their work and studies. One example for this is that scientists demonstrated their research and they have become vital knowledge in textbooks which students learn at schools and universities such as the structure of DNA. Finally, with the development of technology and thanks to the Internet, people can easily approach useful information without having to pay money, which allows them to deal with live issues better than in the past.

On the other hand, it brings more disadvantages from sharing a certain kind of information. Firstly, as the information is too important and it is hard to find out, sharing, in this case, should be restricted in order to protect the Intellectual Property Right for the authors. To be more specific, it often seems unfair to the author when someone sells his photocopied books for profit, which also leads to violation of the law. Furthermore, as others’ achievements should be respected, some type of information must not be publicly available such as trade secret. If a great number of people know this, it might negatively affect the owner ‘s career, which might lead to many bad effects such as bankruptcy.

In conclusion, although sharing knowledge is essential to some extent, certain kind of information is not suitable to widely publicize.