Offering gifts have become a tradition, nowadays, in most of the developed countries. While many people believe that presents reflect emotions and love for our closed ones, I promote the inclusion of some other encouraging ways in which we can show care and strengthen our relationships.

The supporters of gifts put forth several benefits of following this idea. They emphasise on the happiness that it brings when our special ones are not around. Children and teenager, in particular, become joyful when they see games and toys, for example, gifted by their friends who moved to different locations. The innovative ways in which a collage, for instance, is made with many photos, shows the effort that a companion has invested, especially to make someone feel special. Furthermore, these days, people have started helping impoverished families by catering education-related gifts where the older generation offers books related to science, literature and history.

Conversely, in my perspective, there are numerous issues experienced by the young generation these days such as solitude, depression and a feeling of resentment. These individuals require continuous time, attention and commitment as a form of care from their parents and friends. On occasions like Anniversaries, birthdays and marriages, our mates send expensive offerings rather than being available either due to their busy schedule or unwillingness to travel far distances. Such behaviours lead to the weakening of relationships which are commonly observed in the current era. Most of the people treat these tangible gifts irrelevant and see it as a formality for the sake of saving the relationship. In these scenarios, people’s presence is the most aspired pillar that is necessary to improve interpersonal skills, which is seldom seen in society.

In conclusion, while gifts undoubtedly have specific benefits in improving our relationships, I opine individual’s continuous-time and attention as a token of care that is essential to have a prosperous and contented life.