Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries Do you agree or disagree

It’s argued that teaching inhabitants the literature should only concentrates on literary works of their own country. While I accept that indigenous people can gain a range of benefits from learning the literature works of their nation, I believe that foreign literature should also be placed a high emphasis on.

There are several reasons why learning literature from local sources plays a crucial part. When exposed to these works, the residents have a chance to have a profound insight into literature values, which can trigger in them a sense of patriotism and national pride. This therefore motives them to respect and preserve these worthwhile values. Take a Vietnamese work of literature- Thanh Giong as an example, the legendary story tells about the victorious past of this nation when they overcame various hardships to eliminate foreign invaders with decisiveness. Besides, local written works are great methods of education. Through literature written in the mother tongue, the native people can understand the message conveyed obviously in each work that educates individuals to become a person owning a good personality. By this way, it plays an important role in the development of the social culture of a country.

However, studying international literature should not be taken for granted because of the following advantages. When exposed to works of other countries, the locals can widen their knowledge about cultural and traditional values of different parts of the world. By this way, they can avoid cultural conflicts or other cultural- related problems when they travel abroad or work for an international company in the future. In addition, the exposure to national literary works from other regions enables the local residents to learn innovative ideas to contribute to the improvement of their own country. For instance, feminism from westen countries has penetrated into Asian countries through literature, which has encouraged discriminated women to fight for their benefits.

In conclusion, while locally written works of literature deserve to being focused on due to the importance of protecting national heritages and the enhancement of education, foreign works should be treated as equals thanks to the purpose of widening knowledge and studying from experiences.