Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others, however, believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that taking care of individual diet belongs to residents or the national authority is a subject of debate. While reasons can be given to justify the latter, the former is much more preferable.

On the one hand, there are strong reasons to think that governments could control the health of residents by intervening in the sources of food. The more rigorous national authorities control, the higher standards of food hygiene and safety are. If there are a myriad of requirements of food, the awareness of the food quality in the community will increase gradually. As a result, consumers have more decent choices in food, and then, make their health better. For example, Protected Designation of Origin, Protected Geographical Indication, or Organic are the niche markets gaining in popularity of intelligent consumers in today’s society.

On the other hand, others would argue that people have to focus on what kind of food in the daily diet they have. In recent decades, for those who are hard-working, they often omit their meals and replace them with fast food which is immensely harmful to their health and fitness. Only when people pay attention to the nutrients and chemical substances in the food they eat every day, does their lifestyle reap the benefits of their sufficient awareness. In addition, regardless of any levels of control the government could take, individuals have to make the right choice for their own lives. For instance, statistics have shown that there is plenty of children having obesity which is caused by an unhealthy diet despite the strict requirements of governments in Europe.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, although the government has to take partial responsibility for taking care of the food hygiene and safety, it seems to me that individuals place paramount importance on their own diet and health.