In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about how to create a crime-free society, and this has turned into a dilemma facing many. Some people claim that longer prison sentences are the best way to fight crime whereas others suggest we have other methods to achieve the same goal. Personally speaking, I would assert that the harsher measure is more feasible.

On the one hand, lengthy imprisonment has the deterrent effect on the public, especially those people prone to perpetrate crime, and America is a good example. After the American government implements lengthy incarceration, this country experiences a downward trend in the number of law offenders, and this is because the majority choose to become law-abiding citizens for fear of being deprived of lifelong freedom. Despite the fact that this measure is criticized as inhumane, it effectively prevents people from flouting the law, thereby reducing crime rates.

On the other hand, other people propose less strict strategies, such as using education, to curb crime. They assume that expanding compulsory education has two profound effects on reducing criminal offense. First and foremost, in terms of the short-term effect, this policy gives chances to teachers to inculcate a sense of social responsibility to potential delinquents, thereby keeping them from engaging in illegal behavior. Just as illustrated in a social study related to crime reduction, crime rates peak at the age of 18, but keeping teenagers at school during this critical period can help ensure that they will never proceed down the wrong track forever. Second, in terms of the long-term effect, extra time spent on the educational system helps people obtain the professional skills conducive to a decent job, and makes crime relatively less profitable. This is because the by-products of education, such as stable wages and employment, make the individual stay away from crime. In other words, in contrast with the group who is never accepting education, there is a long-term/long-run and continuous reduction in criminality for the group who received extra education.

In conclusion, both of the two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that crime prevention needs to adopt strict approaches. Although education is a way to instill correct values into our next generation, longer jail sentences are more effective in creating a much safer society.