Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past, people led very restrictive lives, they took the profession of their fathers, ate the foods locally available, and lived in the places their families had lived since immemorial time. This has changed in the modern day, as people have much more freedom to pursue whatever they want to do. This essay will point out why the choices people have nowadays are plentiful.

At present, when we think about having a lot of options, the best example to mention is transportation. In the 18th century, the main means of human transport were horses or sailing boats. With these types of transportation, it takes months to transport people and goods to different countries. However, with today’s modern means of transport such as container ships or airplanes, it only takes a few weeks, even a few days to transport goods across the country. For a prime example, it only takes more than 6 hours to deliver goods from HCM to Osaka by plane instead of weeks of sailing as before.

On the other hand, with the development of science and technology, students also have more choices in education. Before, all students had to study in school and had to study directly with their teachers. Now, we can study in many different places such as the center or study at home with tutors. Furthermore, we can study online without going to school. For instance, due to the influence of Coronavirus, all schools had to close and switch to online learning.

In conclusion, I believe that today we have more options than ever before, and more and more choices are based on the advancement of technology.