Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The present time is perceived by some people to have a surfeit of alternatives available to every individual. However, while I concede that proliferation of several sectors has provided us many choices, I believe opportunities are still dearth in the emergency situations and place of necessity.

I admit the expansion of fields such as industrial, educational, political and so on has led to wide range of choices in every decision. For instance, the development of technologies and demand for a lot of qualities in work have made availability of a number of subjects in colleges to select from. Earlier, only science, mathematics, business, economics or sociology were some of the fields available for students to study. But now, business analytics, data sector, humanity, management and other countless subjects are present for the people to look towards. Not all the fields are chosen and as a result, the plethora of choices has turned into excess in some of the sectors. Hence, we have now opportunity to select from a number of alternatives for our study, work or life choices.

However, the augmented number of alternatives have been present only at a superficial level or in an unimportant situation. To take an example, the choices of medicines to take in critical condition of a patient is still lacking. Malign and chronic cases such as cancer, arthritis, etc., still demand significant research in finding a greater number of options for treatment. Chemo-therapy and gene-therapy are only two choices to select from for curing life-threating cancer stages. Moreover, the increase in number of subjects to study for students have not necessarily improved the availability of job choices for them. Hence, the options are not viable for us to choose in demanding environment.

Thus, even the excess of choices presented to us in the modern time has not upgraded the proportion of alternatives for us to select in time of need.