The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The main purpose of people working hard through out their life is to earn luxurious future. However, the prompt suggests that the luxury and conveniences provided to a person can prevent them from being strong and independent individuals. I mostly agree to the prompt that the luxury can be damaging for following three reasons.

First of all, whenever human being begins to get comfort, in most cases, they become indolent. They do not care about the work, the struggles they have to do to become competent. It can even lead to the point where your life might destroyed. For instance, the son of Jackie Chan had all the luxuries in the world. He was buried deep in the comfort and forgot all the life struggles and did not even tried a single competent tasks. Instead, he started involving in drugs and ultimately ended up in jail. His convenient life style made him do nothing and even sacrifice this precious life to drugs let alone doing something to become strong and independent.

Secondly, Luxury can sometime blind us with ego and self sufficiency that we tend to think we need not give our best to any work we do. It is not only about work but also in studies and in following any of our passion, convenience hinders our path to greatness. We choose to do less work, gain less knowledge as we feel we do not need any of those and we have everything we need in this life. Lets take this as an instance. Paul Pogba, after his first game for Manchester United, got all the fame and luxury that he needed in his life. That made him think that he has earned enough already and now can work, in his case, play, minimally and still be the best. He stopped doing hard work and depended on his past achievements and enjoyed his comfort. Eventually, he was surpassed by Bruno, Kante and many other players as best and he could not even be seen in the top 10. So, Luxury can mess up our thinking by making us believe that we have done enough and we do not tend to do more to be stronger and independent.

However, it is not always the case that convenience and luxury weakens our ability. Sometimes, with proper guidance, comfort can lead us to greatness. When people are totally comfortable, they feel no disturbance by all the difficulties to face and struggle to do and they can fully focus on their goal. And even after they reach the goal, the more luxury they earn and that can inspire them to do even beyond. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo achieved the most luxury a man could have in 2009 when he was transferred to Real Madrid. He could have stopped playing well like Pogba and contributed little to the football world. But instead, he had access to all the convenience necessary for his daily trainings. And he worked even harder and went on to win more Individual and Collective awards for himself, his club and his country. Now, He is the ultimate GOAT(Greatest Of All Time). So, luxury can make you push your limit even harder and farther and make you stronger and independent.

So, I believe this differs from person to person, their aim, their thinking capabilities and the guidance they get. With proper guidance and care, luxury and convenience can help us achieve greatness, make us independent and much stronger while most of the time making us indolent and reducing our worth.