Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Choices are sometimes extremely powerful that can change one's life completely. It is argued that there are too many options these days. Personally, I agree that we have to many choices, yet I still suppose that having numerous choices does not mean we can easily make selection due to a variety of reasons

On the one hand, we ourselves do have too many choices. This abundance of options is attributable to the ever-changing world. In other words, the world renews itself every hour, giving human tons of new information, new issues, new trends and movements, and more things to concern about. Take the kids today and those from three decades ago as examples for this point. No matter that stage are they in, their means of entertainment still vary, however, the children these days absolutely have more to select, even too many. Another instance is transportation. Back in old times, people had nothing except for trains and cyclos, whereas people in modern days have many of them, such as bus, train, motorbike, plane, underground, boat and coach, each for specific demands. As such, there exists too many choices for people, and this phenomenon accelerates second by second.

On the other hand, as I have argued in the first place, having too many options does not result in any more perks, even bring more drawbacks to our lives. Living in such ever-changing world, we can sometimes struggle with the paths we choose, the paths that can turn our lives over a new page. For example, graduated pupils now have to deal with countless career and other substitutes. They wonder what to do a lot, whether going abroad as his/her parents insist or working in a well-paid company as his/her relatives suggest. Moreover, in some families in which prejudices still deeply root, the children even do not have a selection to choose, they must obey thier parents and do not stand a chance to reason. In this regard, having more choices are hard to many people, even meaningless to some people.

To sum up, I myself agree that people nowadays have too many choices, yet I still reckon that the idiom "the more the merrier" is not rational in this situation. Suppose that we had less options than we are having, maybe life would be a bit more comfortable.