Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, it is undeniable that people have several choices, from personal needs to public demands. Some people may feel it would be a significant change because they have multiple choices, while others will have negative views or opinions about such development. Personally, I do believe that having too many options may not be a good change.

First and foremost, being faced with numerous choices can lead to confusion and indecision among individuals. It can be obviously seen that these days, in every aspect, people are forced to make decisions among numerous choices, which causes challenges to them as they do not know what option is the best one, and in some cases, they might give up since it is hard to select. Take an example from the case of when a person tends to purchase a new, updated smartphone. Surprisingly, when searching on the internet, one can find more than five existing mobile phone brands, such as Iphone, Samsung, Oppo, Bphone, etcetera. Consequently, this diversity causes a lot of confusion among people and makes them hard to choose a good and fit one, or, in the worst-case scenario, they might decide not to change their phone.

In addition, this change may cause some negative effects on resident’s health. With the development of information technology, everyone will have many more opportunities to reach different sources of information. As a result, some individuals strive to access numerous sources due to the fear of being outdated, commonly known as the fear of missing out (FOMO). The consequences of this condition may not manifest immediately, as it is a form of mental health issue. If a patient is in this situation for a long time, he might be depressed sooner or later owing to trying his best to gain more knowledge than others in the community.

To summarize, while it may be good to have several choices for every aspect, I fully see it is not a positive idea, at least in this era, to have numerous options, which may lead to confusion or harmful impacts on human mental health.