Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. Others say films should have educational value.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past few years, people have witnessed the development of the film industry. It is generally argued by some that films have only one purpose that is entertaining; meanwhile, others dispel this notion, believing that it ought to contain the educational value. Although both sides may present its valid arguments in support of themselves, I personally incline towards the latter for the rationale that follows.

To begin with, advocates of the first view contend that there is certainly justification worth considering. Perhaps the most credible explanation for this would be that films are place where people can temporarily forget their real-life with drawbacks and burdens. In other words, people can live in another character with new life and image what they will do in that virtual life. What is more, films are also medicines that healing people’s minds. This screentime is either just a light-hearted entertainment without the pressure of life or a fantasy world where people can control the whole.

Nevertheless, others and I are in the belief that films including educational value raise their worth. To start with, films have a profound impact on viewers’ behavioral development, especially children and teenagers. Therefore, the covered message in each film is in accordance with the modem belief system become more and more important that affect on the way people talk and behave towards others. Additionally, some people saw foreign films as tools for learning new knowledge. To illustrate, listening to dialogues is a great way to hear native people speaking with closed-captioned text. Furthermore, this is also one of the best ways to approach foreign countries’ cultures.

To conclude then, whilst there exists a discussion on the matter, it is difficult to determine which may be more positive. Howbeit, in line with the previous statement, I am concerned to assert that films should contain the educational value.