Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that films were born to satisfy the demand for entertainment. Others believe that films may have educational value as well as entertainment. While I accept this former perception as somewhat justifiable, I believe that films should not be simply a source of entertainment.

On the one hand, numerous people watch movies to entertain themselves. Many people need entertainment films to provide an escape from the stress of life. For example, after a long day working in school or work, people tend to have more pressures and disappointments, so that they want to watch films to make them feel better instead of watching theoretical movies. In particular, a film such as Mission Impossible was created without messages or even factual content to convert to audiences, this kind of film is suitable for people who just want to entertain.

On the other hand, there are myriad compelling reasons as I am convinced that it is of paramount importance for educational value on films. Firstly, historical films may have benefits for people to learn about the history of culture. The target audiences for this kind of film are large, suggesting that numerous people want films to tackle these subjects. Secondly, films can play an important role in educating children. For instance, films that talk about wildlife have probably inspired young children to want to take up an interest in this field.

In conclusion, while films may have entertainment purposes to hold up attention on the audiences, I believe that films should take part in educating and teaching people’s knowledge.