Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, entertainment is a matter which has provoked considerable debate. Whereas it is wildly believed that films are just for relaxation, there are those who argue that films should have combination of entertainment and education values. Although each side of opinion has its own reasons and realities, which will be included in a further discussion below, I am still more convinced that enjoy any kinds of films is human's freedom.

On the one hand, the idea that the only purpose of films is to entertain is quite plausible. The main reason why people propose this is that watching films helps people escape stress of daily activities. For example, some people want to relax and be comfortable completely after a hard - working day, so it is logical for they watch a romantic films or funny films.

On the other hand, the combination of entertainment and education values in films seems likely to be effectively in practice. Firstly, the obvious reason is that when watching films, people can learn a lot of general knowledge. In detail, this is an interesting method for students. To illustrate, instead of learning by heart about historical events and people, learners can study through films such as Vietnam War, Youth of May, Titanic... Secondly, some films can bring messages that people must change their habits to protect their future. Take an example, humans can learn how to recycle, reduce pollutants and protect wild animals...from watching environmental films.

In conclusion, the ongoing arguments have convinced me that watching a film that is to entertain or have educational value depends on audiences’ s purpose.