Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, an increasing number of crime has been a serious worldwide issue. It is argued by many commentators that the people who commit crime should receive longer prison sentences in order to diminish crime rates. Whereas, others believe we should take other measures, instead. Although the former opinion might be true, I strongly support the latter one.

To begin with, it is possible to reduce the offences by focusing on preventative measurements. In a light manner, we can activate a governmental security system which sets up more CCTV and arrange the extra number of security guards to target the dangerous spots or streets. A good exemplification of this is a Night Security system run by the local council and citizens in South Korea. This is where a group of volunteers walk citizens safely home in the risky areas. However, the security system might not cover all high-risky situations and might cost the earth for the governments.

In the second place, it is advisable to use advertisements for educational purposes to prevent felonies. That is to say, viewers will be familiar with civil moralities and minimal values required as citizens by spreading the message on air. For instance, NSW, Australia witnessed a significant drop in juvenile crime rate in 2018 after broadcasting a public advertisement dealing with juvenile delinquencies. Although this might be effective, the young are more likely to get affected by negative contents from the Internet.

Last but not least, the government should apply stricter regulation for drug and alcohol use. As people are under the effect of alcoholic and mind-bending substances, they are prone to commit crimes. Even worse, they would not notice and have no recognition of their own behaviour. Therefore, it is definitely vital to control such issues. For instance, Queensland, Australia has a strict rule when it comes to serving alcohol in venues. By law, it is prohibited to serve rapid intoxication drinks from midnight to protect citizens from potential crimes caused by the unconscious violence. Nevertheless, it is almost impossible to monitor drinking at home.

In a nutshell, my conclusion is that other measurements should be considered to reduce crimes instead of extending prison years. This is, again, emphasized by government run security systems, publishing educational advertisement on air and the instruction of stricter regulation for drug and alcohol use. Behind bars (instead of prison) Nowadays the laws we have, criminals get away with murder.