Some people believe that physical fitness of strong individuals and teams is the reason for most sports achievements. Others, however, think that mental attitude is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is irrefutably true that achievements in the sports are the result of hard work, talent and strong commitment. However, some people say that physical fitness of sports players plays a key role to make massive accomplishments in the sports. By contrast, others claim mental attitude as the most salient factor behind sports achievements. Here, I would like to account for both sides with my own perception.

There are manifold points to endorse the former view. First and foremost, players with sound physical fitness can put their hundred percent efforts for the victory of their team. Their performance looks extraordinary when they are good at fitness. Taking a real life example into consideration, once in a cricket match, a top class batsman Hershel Gibbs was playing exceptionally well against India. His team was very close to victory but unfortunately, he got injured while running for a single. Later, he was unable to take singles and got out while playing a big shot. This turned his team to lose the final match by only two runs. Hence, achievements in the crucial matches and tournaments depend a lot on the physical fitness of best players. On the contrary, others have conflicting views.

They think that a robust mental attitude lays down the foundation of achievements in sports. Without strong mentality and positive attitude, making achievements seems a herculean task. To make it clear with one more real life example, South African cricket team is one of the best cricket teams in the world but they have never won any World Cup just because of less strong mental attitude or temperament. Many many times, it is noticed by the cricket fans and experts that the players of South Africa are unable to bear the pressure of big games and become mentally depressed under pressure situations. This results in quick loss of wickets and game over for African team. Consequently, mentally strong players are much needed to win awards in the sports.

To recapitulate, undeniably, physical fitness has it’s own importance. However, in my opinion, a positive mind set up with the passion to win brings a massive success in sports.