Some people believe that professional sportsmen and women are paid too much money nowadays in relation to their usefulness to society. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether sports professionals are overpaid in comparison to their contribution to society or not has been a contentious one. Personally, I believe that professional sports salaries are fair.

In the first place, the sports stars earn a great deal of money due to the entertaining purpose of sports. To begin with, sports is a multi-million-pound industry. There are a large nummber of audiences who are willing to pay such a huge smount of money just to pay for the match ticket. Moreover, televised games or events with the sport theme attract many viewers on a regular basis. It is because watching sports has becoming the most ubiquitous leisure activity in every household all over the world.

In the second place, top sports players deserve a revenue of such money because of what they had sacrificed for their career path. It is undeniable that being a top sports stars requires hours of practicing to develop their fitness and skills. Furthermore, during the competition or even just the daily training, sportsmen and women have to suffer from light injuries to the serious ones, which can put an end to their career and enthusiasm at any time. Take Cong Vinh, a famous football player in Vietnam, as a prime example. He had spent 10 years rigorously training before becoming a well-known sports professional. In fact, a sports career may only last 10 years, which is quite short compared to any other occupations.

In conclusion, it is my belief that the top sports stars' salaries are fair and balanced regarding to what they contribute to society.