Some people believe that reading on the Internet and e-books are much better ways of

reading. Other people feel that the printed media like books, newspapers and magazines still work

well. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of these two different ways of reading. Which

do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preference.

IELTS 15 test 2 task 2

In the last several years, online media and digital books became a mainstay in society, gradually replacing physical goods. In fact, i feel that the demise of physical media is inevitable for 2 reasons.

One essential factor influencing this trend is that the cost. While many online media producers offer free access to most of their content, subscription to a printed newspaper does cost money. Some supporters may claim that this is often reasonable because traditional newspapers have greater reliability once they hire professional journalists to jot down their articles. However, i might argue that almost all trusted news agencies now must publish their articles freed from charge on the net because the circulation of their physical newspapers has dropped precipitously. additionally, many prestigious authors are releasing their works online. as an example, e-books or audio versions of Harry Potter by J.K Rowling may be easily purchased from Amazon’s platforms with just a mouse-click. Although these writers must sell virtual editions with lower prices than their paper counterparts, they'll reach a bigger audience and increase their fame everywhere the globe, which wont to be impossible within the old days of print publishing.

Another fundamental reason is that the apparent convenience of online versions. it's true that there's still a segment of the population willing to buy physical editions, and these are mainly the elderly, who are at home with reading physical media but lack the fundamental knowledge and skills to show to online media. However, the quantity of these individuals has decreased significantly because the most recent technological devices are more modern and easier to use. As a result, even senior citizens can learn to use them with none difficulty. additionally, a true newspaper is clearly less practical for on-the-go reading than accessing news via a smartphone. this can be an entrenched habit for youth, and it's only a matter of your time until medium become completely obsolete.

In short, not only is reading online news and books more convenient, but also more cost effective than reading printed versions. Therefore, I strongly believe that there'll be a time when people not buy books or papers.