Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that reading books is more beneficial for children compared to watching TV or engaging in computer games. Personally, I contend that the former and the latter have equal positive aspects for children.

On the one hand, it is undoubtedly that books would offer considerate benefits to children to some extends. Firstly, Books are instrumental in enhancing children's imagination and development. For example, a child reading a fairy tale with illustration will have to think, fantasize, and use their creativeness to comprehend the ideas and reasoning, which in turn sharpens their mental skills. Secondly, Reading a book that is not written in mother tongue could develop a strong language base. It means that children can gain new vocabularies and comprehend the meanings of a word in different contexts.

On the other hand, Watching TV and playing games are considered an important activity in children's development. To begin with, watching TV play a vital role in boosting linguistic competence. It can be explained by the fact that many recent English shows support the audience to remember new words easily by associating them with vivid images shown on the screen. Moreover, children can enhance their multitasking skills by playing games. For instance, they might have to move their joystick around, while looking at various elements on the screen and make split-moment decisions that are vital to winning.

In conclusion, while the benefits of reading are undeniable, they can not outweigh the role of watching TV and participating in games in enhancing a person's skills and language.