Online shopping is becoming more popular. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of work required?

With the aid of technological advances at the speed of light, online shopping has become a prevalent way of shopping for various products and services. This trend has profound implications on the environment and the types of employment.

To begin with, it should be never denied that the rise of e-shopping retailers is both beneficial and harmful to the environment to some extent. One obvious merit of this trend, perhaps, is Slowed Climate Change. This can be explained by the fact that since consumers do not need to drive to brick-and-mortar stores, This will eventually lessen a great feal of exhaust fumes which is one of the causes of the climate crisis. However, The picture does not look rosy. If people are more encouraged to shopping online, more plastic wastes will be released into oceans and rivers due to overpackaging. The natural habitat of many marine species will be destroyed as a result.

In addition, the growth of E-shopping has also brought negative as positive impacts on people's employment. On the one hand, this development will create job opportunities for people especially those who major in Information Technology. In fact, to maintain an E-store, shoppers need to hire many kinds of job vacancies such as data administrators, web designers, delivery drivers, etc. On the other hand, due to the online shopping growth, traditional stores which create thousands of job retailers will reduce. Consequently, it will put a strain on the government to create alternative jobs for these individuals which might take a long haul and a large amount of budget.

In conclusion, Online shopping impacts the environment and work market in both positive and negative ways.