Online shopping is becoming more popular. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of work required?

It has been recently claimed that the trendiest way of exchange is online shopping. However, its negative impact on the environment as for plastic pollution cannot be denied. Therefore, a large amount of research has been undertaken by the government in order to create the most efficient solution which can preserve the ecosystem from being poisoned.

The aspect to consider regarding the less interesting features of online shopping concerns environmental pollution. It can be observed that most online goods are covered by nylon or plastic packaging, then delivered to consumers, due to their cheap cost and convenience. However, being made from non-biodegradable materials takes those packaging a long time to decompose which will cause damage to the ecosystem, once they are discarded into the environment. For instance, if water is blanketed in nylon bags, they will find their way into the digestive and respiratory system of flora and fauna under water. As long as this issue persists, the variety of animals, not only under water but also others, will be led to extinction.

With this consideration in mind, the government should react immediately to protect the ecosystem from the disadvantage of online shopping. In my subjective opinion, the packaging made from non-degradable materials should be taxed heavily, while declining for the friendly one. When the revenue and profit are influenced by those tax policies, considering changing another packaging with lower rates such as papers or boxes will come to the online owner’s mind. As a consequence, when there is a decrease in demand, the factories or suppliers, who produce plastic and nylon packaging, will reduce the amount of those materials manufactured or change into creating friendly environmental substances. Should this become true in the future, there will be no plastic bag and ever-increasing biodegradable materials will be invented, which leads to a cleaner environment.