Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that reading books is more beneficial for children than watching TV or playing games on the screen. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view for some reasons.

There are several positive reasons to explain the advantages of books. First of all, a regular habit of reading stories stimulates the imagination. By spending time on books, young people use their creativity to visualize characters and the scenery. Furthermore, teenagers can learn a lot of meaningful knowledge from reading. For example, a lesson from Cinderella - a very famous fairy tale teaches children never to stop believing in their dreams and themselves. Finally, reading requires more attention from children than watching TV or using computers. Reading books need to understand the content, therefore encourage children to research and foster their curiosity.

In contrast, I would reckon that spending excessive time playing games and television leads to serious problems. Firstly, children are likely to build sedentary life. Wasting too much time entertaining on the screen is harmful to health such as obesity, heart-attacked and diseases related to their eyes. Secondly, young people can easily be addicted to games leading to a lack of interaction. Youngsters are prone to exploit their time to sit in front of a screen rather than joining extracurricular activities like playing football, running and swimming,... which makes them lose contact and communication skills with their friends and other people.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that reading stories from books is better than watching TV or playing games.