Some people believe that restoration of old buildings costs too much; we should demolish them and build new ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Gradually, as years pass-by, these buildings tend to suffer damages. Therefore, it’s a popular opinion to de-construct and rebuild to save a lot of money; however, there are few buildings which need not undergo this process. This essay will discuss few points in agreement, as well as in disagreement of this view.

To begin with, India is one of the most populated countries and having old infrastructure is not viable during natural calamities. Restoring these buildings by fixing the affected areas is dangerous. Researchers point out the risks involved in restoration, as these buildings tend to collapse during earthquakes, harming many in and around the area. Thus, demolishing them and rebuilding them is the only option.

On the flip side, there are few buildings which represent the countries culture and heritage. For example, the Taj Mahal which is the popular monument of India, represents value to the country by encouraging tourism. It is said that each year, thousands of people fly to Agra to have a glance at this piece of art. Huge amounts are invested in the maintenance of such treasures. Demolishing this monument would lower the economy of the country, as well as the historical value involved. Hence, it might be wise to restore such buildings.

Having analysed the above point of views, it is suffice to say that, regular old buildings can be demolished for reconstruction but buildings which carry a lot of value, not only for itself, but also for the country might be restored.