Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Discuss both view and give your own opinion

Plenty of schools nowadays often give homework to their students and there has been an argument on whether teachers should assign homework them or not. I personally believe that the two views are not completely wrong, and the following essay takes an insight at both sides of the argument.

Giving homework after school is useful for students to review the lessons that they have learnt at schools. Some students who are prone to indolence or forgetful will have the opportunity to revise and memorise the knowledge better. After that, the teachers can check the accuracy and make sure that the pupils recognise and take notes their mistakes. Moreover, it helps the students easily understand the next lessons if it involves with the prior session.

However, giving homework is not the best way to remind pupils to remind of their previous lessons. Students have to finish their homework before going to school. Therefore, they do not have enough time to play sport, take activities or join clubs at school. This can make students become drained and not be able to save enough energy for the next day. Moreover, students will get stressed and feel bored when going to school. Just as some Asians countries like Japan, Korea and China, it can be seen that all pupils are trying their best for their future. They are not educated sufficiently about the necessary soft skills such as communication, negotiation, and team-work. Thus, they are seemingly passive and in the state of energy lacking.

To sum up, homework for student, regardless of anything, still results in controversies amongst both views and an ideal solution is to go with one that suits the students’ learning habits.