There are contrasting views regarding whether school children should be given tasks to complete at home or not. Some believe that homework is unnecessary and burdening while some believe that homework plays and important role in the learning process.

Burdening students with a large amount of homework is not very helpful. Children should not have to spend whole of their day in studying, that is, first studying in school and then completing assignments at home. Not all children are interested in academics and some of them might want to focus on other activities such as arts, music and sports. Homework reduces the time availabe to be spent on these activities. Also, copying words from the internet and books in the form of an essay is not learning. It is merely agreeing with facts already available. Completing a plethora of assignments and worksheets is rather tiring and reduces a child's creativity.

On the other hand, giving homework in a controlled manner might just be the way. I remember that in my school, fixed days were alloted on which homework was given. Each subject had a particular day such that homework related to one subject could only be given on that day. This simple technique made completing homework easier than the traditional methods of getting homework for each subject every day. If lesser amount of homework is given, the learning process would become more efficient as students could easily just revise what had been taught in school on a particular day. Furthermore, they would get time to focus on recreational activities too.

In conclusion, homework would play an important role in the education of children if given in just the right amount.