Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not school children should be given

homework. While there are some strong arguments against the setting of

homework, I still believe that it is a necessary aspect of education.

There are several reasons why people might argue that homework is an

unnecessary burden on children. Firstly, there is evidence to support the idea

that homework does nothing to improve educational outcomes. Countries such

as Finland, where school children are not given homework, regularly top

international educational league tables and outperform nations where setting

homework is the norm. Secondly, many parents would agree that the school day

is already long enough, and leaves their children too tired to do further study

when they return home. Finally, it is recognised that play time is just as

beneficial as study time from the perspective of brain development.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that homework has an

important role to play in the schooling of children. The main benefit of

homework is that it encourages independent learning and problem solving, as

children are challenged to work through tasks alone and at their own pace. In

doing so, students must apply the knowledge that they have learnt in the

classroom. For example, by doing mathematics exercises at home, students

consolidate their understanding of the concepts taught by their teacher at

school. In my view, it is important for children to develop an independent study

habit because this prepares them to work alone as adults.

In conclusion, homework certainly has its drawbacks, but I believe that the

benefits outweigh them in the long term.