Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children Discuss both the views and give your own opinion

For centuries, the tradition of assigning the homework has been given an immense value in the context of students' learning. It is commonly believed that homework has an indispensable contribution in the teaching-learning process, while many others oppose this fact stating that homework should be banned as it does nothing favorable in the learning development. This essay will target both the views before suggesting a systematic approach for the same.

It is an undeniable fact that increased competition has pressurized our learning structure to a greater extent. As a result, children are expected to channelize their time in numerous other growth areas. In such a scenario, parents argue on getting a lot of homework, as it hinders the exploratory behavior of kids. In addition, social connectivity gets badly impacted due to a lack of free playtime. Also, many researchers have proved that homework does not help in boosting academic grades, instead can interfere with the sleep patterns. For instance, a survey report by Stanford University revealed that high school students who exceed the upper limit of more than two and half hours of homework a night were more likely to develop stress-related systems.

On the contrary, a section of society believes in the burgeoning effect of homework on the learning ability. As it is often said that practice makes the man perfect, which means the practice of repeating the learned concept is extremely essential. Moreover, students learn to be independent in their tasks, while learning the skills of time-management, and multitasking. For example, it is commonly seen that individuals who learn to master pressure from an early age are more successful.

To conclude, the views on whether the homework assignment should be outlawed varies largely. However, in my opinion, despite a few cons of this practice, limiting the combined homework hours for all the subjects along with the parental support school systems can gobble up this problem and can help improve students' performance.