Some students tend to play computer games rather than do sports. Why is this? What can be done to tackle the problem?

In the advent of technology, numerous innovations are emerging amid global competition. Inventions of modern gadgets, computer games and many more have engulfed the youngsters brain to a greater extent and pushed them away from any type of physical workout. Although, technical gadgets have gained tremendous importance in todays world, but students extreme dependency on its application for their leisure at the cost of their physical exercise can not be ignored. This essay will emphasize on various reasons behind this growing trend among children along with appropriate suggestions to overcome this issue.

First of all, continuous expansion of technological devices is extending its roots as a strong business. As a result, more and more indoor screen games are coming in market to adversely impact our young generation. Overindulgence in games with strong visual and sound effects deviates them to participate in any kind of physical sport. Moreover, it gives a feeling of comfort and relaxation along with enormous adventure to spend time on exploring these computer games rather than investing long hours on the ground doing physical exertion. For instance, nowadays, healthcare system is overwhelmed with obesity issues among children due to increased interest in technological gadgets. So, it is undeniable fact that comfort and excitement associated with present time computer games is making our students more lethargic to take part in any physical activities.

So, seeing the present scenario, it becomes a matter of great concern for everyone to find a suitable solution to overcome this problem. Some implementations that can be taken ahead involves contribution from parents who can play a vital role by limiting computer time to play games. Also, schools can encourage children in sports by assigning a compulsory period for physical education. In addition, educational bodies can arrange for an expert talk on the concerned topic to educate students about drawbacks of overuse of computer games and highlighting the value of sports in their life.

To conclude, technological developments are getting more popular in the world of youngsters. Connectivity of fun factor and adventure with these games are responsible for its demand in children's life. I think a collaborative approach towards given scenario can help in grappling the current situation.