Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Giving homework to students is one of the most debated ideas in our education. While some people are of the opinion that homework is unnecessary for school children to do at home, some others are opposed to this viewpoint, claiming that students have to do homework. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favor of the latter.

There are several reasons why people might argue that the teacher doesn’t need to give exercise to the students at home. On the one hand, many parents consider that learning in class is long and tired enough. Hence, after a long day at school, instead of doing homework, the children should have more time to release their stress. Secondly, students need not only knowledge in textbooks at school but also social skills. That’s the reason why other outdoor activities are indispensable for children. Through practical exercise, they can improve physical health in order to keep up with the school programs better.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that the learning quality of students will be hard to improve if they don’t do homework. Doing exercise is an effective way for school children to check their knowledge and expand new forms. For instance, when I was in University, practicing exercises given by my teachers helped me know my drawbacks or mistakes. Therefore, I could improve them in the final tests. Furthermore, students enhance their independent learning as well as problem-solving thanks to homework. Different from school, the children haven’t got any support from their teacher; they have to solve all exercises by themselves at home. As a consequence, their thinking ability will be improved considerably. In my viewpoint, it’s important to promote independent learning habits because this prepares them to work alone as adults.

In conclusion, although homework has several disadvantages, I believe that the benefits overweight them in the long term.