Some people believe that schools should only teach children subjects which are beneficial for their future career and therefore other subjects such as music and sports are not important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Countries in different corners of the world vary from each other in terms of their education systems and their concentration on distinguishing fields in educating the young generation. In lots of areas, people strongly believe that children should only be taught academic disciplines which are beneficial for them in the future and thus, other subjects such as sports or music are underestimated. Personally, I disagree with this idea.

Firstly, instead of gaining more knowledge from intellectual disciplines in school, studying other fields intensively can support children develop themselves physically, mentally and socially. Indeed, lots of researches show that combining subjects in multi-aspects is one of the most effective education methods for learners. More specifically, students who are taught sports and attend in sport classes have a tendency to become more flexible and stronger than those who only focus on learning mathematics, physics or history. Furthermore, arts subjects such as music, painting or dancing can help children get out of suffering from stress and pressure and, as the result, they also support children in terms of mental development. Additionally, attending sports or music classes is considered as a great opportunity for children to enlarge their social cycle. In short, although student’s grasp of academic subjects is extremely important and necessary for their future career, other fields should not be underestimated because they can help children develop comprehensively.

Lastly, children differ from each other in their own strength and individual talent, therefore, ignorance teaching sports and arts subjects at schools can dampen students’ enthusiasm who are gifted at these fields. In fact, children will easily be frustrated if they are forced to study subjects they don’t expect. For instance, schooling can gradually be tedious for children who are talented at music and have expectations to become singers in the future if they have to choose history, literature or mathematics in the school. Another example can be found in students who want to work as professional athletics when they get more mature. Obviously, these students probably have an ideal studying environment to improve their strength when they are taught sports and practice regularly in the school equiped full of sports facilities. That is the reason why teaching sports and other subjects at schools can inspire students who hold expectation for working in these fields in the future.

As discussed, apart from teaching intellectual disciplines, no one can deny the significance of others subjects such as music or sports because of their benefits for children’s physical, mental and social development.