Some people believe that single-sex school students perform better academically. However, others believe that both gender schools provide children with the best social skills for adulthood. Discuss both perspectives and give your opinion?

People have different views about the types of schools that play a crucial role in juveniles’ academic performance and preparation for adulthood. While separate schools with only one gender provide students with academic achievement to some extent, I would argue that co-ed education is a better option for teenagers’ maturity and socialism.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why single-gender education brings a great number of benefits for adolescents in terms of study results. The first justification is that since there is no gender discrimination, students in schools that teach only one gender are encouraged to build up their confidence and avoid feeling self-deprecating in comparison with the other sex. For example, in general, male pupils are higher appreciated to do better in sports and science-related subjects rather than females. By contrast, female students in single-sex schools can also pursue sports like football and even form teams to compete against each other. Another advantage is to enhance the productivity of students. If youngsters enroll in mix-sex schools, they could cope with problems such as early romantic relationships which may influence negatively the attention in the class. Consequently, attending single-gender schools allows young cohorts to concentrate more on their study.

On the other hand, I side with people whose notion is that integrated education creates more favorable conditions for children’s adulthood. The first and foremost explanation is that adolescents of both genders may have the opportunity to explore each other’s perspectives as well as their similarities and differences. This not only helps teenagers to have a better insight into co-existence and gender equality but also eliminates any discrimination. Furthermore, a majority of single-sex school students are recorded to be introverted when talking to opposite-sex people. Therefore, registering co-education setting contributes to both males’ and females’ communication capability, especially when they take part in group work activities in workplaces. Finally, the interaction between pupils of both genders enables them to learn a wider range of skills, which improve educational outcomes including good academic performance and practical skills such as problem-solving skills instead of only theoretical knowledge.

In conclusion, various people think that single-gender education offer students with higher academic performance, whereas integrated schools support them in a much better way for adulthood, I believe the latter is a wiser choice.