Some people believe that studying at uni or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe it’s better to get a job straight after school.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There have always been debates concerning the role of further education after high school. A group of people assumes that the most optimal way to success is entering university or college, while others insist on the fact that engaging in the labor force when graduating from high school is a better option. From my perspective, despite some merits of getting a job without gaining a university or college degree, I would advocate the opposite idea.

On the one hand, universities and colleges are established to ensure academic competencies for students. Thus, gaining a degree from them will not only academically facilitate the knowledge base, which plays a pivotal role in performing a job properly, but also enable one to appear more credible to the recruiter. In short, by entering universities or colleges, one will get a specialized insight to meet or even exceed the requirements of an occupation.

On the other hand, engaging in the labor force right after finishing high school will also have particular advantages, the most outstanding of which is the opportunity to be exposed to a practical working environment at a very young age. Nonetheless, unless them being studious while working to enhance their competencies, a brutal truth is that there will be significant pitfalls and obstacles on their way to getting higher on their career ladder due to the lack of profound and specialized knowledge. What is more, lacking academic credit might also be a disadvantage when stepping into a job-seeking competition.

In conclusion, despite a considerable advantage of working straight after high school, which is the exposure to actual working experience, in most cases, this choice implies several obstacles that can be dodged by studying at a university or college. Hence, I am more of further education instead of embarking on an occupation after completing high school.