Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Youths should be involved voluntarily in social activities during leisure time, as this provides positive impacts on both society and those young people involved in it. I agree with this notion since it builds the foundation for political involvement and also expands personal experience regarding problem-solving and decision-making.

Nowadays, youths are greatly developing an interest towards politics. Aged, tested, and failed political leaders are spreading frustration and anger among youth. Involvement in social work helps to develop leadership capacity, and also leaves positive impacts on that community. Moreover, this sort of participation helps to recognize the youth in that community, and during election time it may create positive attributes towards young social activists. For instance, in the recently happened local-level election in Nepal, those youths who were previously involved in social activities gained popularity and many of them were elected at the local level. Involvement in these kinds of activities motivates youths to move forward in politics.

Participation in community work enriches the capacity of youth to deal with real-world problems of decision-making in their day-to-day life. Social works such as proper maintenance of health, sanitation, security and so on in society need proper decision and coordination. Involvement in these types of issues nourishes the personal skill development in youth. Experience is directly correlated with participation. For example, recent studies concluded that teenagers who are involved in community work have greater decision-making and skills coordination.

In conclusion, participation in social activities helps to motivate youth to become successful political leaders and it also assists in personal capacity development. So, I strongly agree that young people should be involved in community development without any wages or salary also.