Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

A number of people believe that the final punishment for each kind of offence ought to be fixed. Whereas, others suppose that prior to deciding on the punishment, the situations and motivations of each individual need to be taken into consideration. Personally, I am of the notion that it is necessary to make a decision which bases on different circumstances for committing delinquency.

To begin with, there is no doubt that each type of criminal behaviours can be implemented the same punishments. Death penalty, for example, is for offences killing human or life imprison for some illegal activities. Hence, these fixed rules enable to prohibit the public from committing to crime.

Besides, giving an unchanged penalty also ensure the court is conducted more quickly.

On the other hand, making a decision of crime should be made up based on a various number of cases. Obviously, it is unfair to implement the same punishments for each set of wrongdoing. That is because the motivation of each individual varies from person to person. For instance, property or a state of hunger is likely to force someone to opt for criminal activities. Another example can be illustrated here is there is a various number of accidents have happened by chance, which is different from other case caused by intentionally. Therefore, the court is impossible to make up their mind of the similar penalty without considering particular situations and motivation.

In conclusion, even though fixing punishments for each type of crime find it easier to clarify the level of criminal seriousness. I believe that the laws are suggested to be applied to ensure they are fair to every citizen.