Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others however argue that the circumstances of individual crime and motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account while when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some support the idea that crimes of any measure are punishable and there should be fixed penalty for that, irrespective of the motives of a criminal. While others consider circumstances of misconduct as an important perspective. They believe that the situation of a convict should be considered before giving the final verdict. I believe that, harsh times can bring forth a wrongdoer out of the noblest of human beings. Therefore, final verdicts must be based on the circumstances under which the act was done.

One argument put forward in favor of fixed punishments is that, seasoned criminals after committing a crime fabricate the entire story to escape the justice. For instance, murderers in past have lied about their psychological conditions, and Instead of facing time in penitentiaries they ended up in institutes for psychologically ill. In addition to that certain criminal groups persuade youngsters to carry out some of the street crimes, as the penalties for teenagers are less severe. If there were obligatory punishments none of the criminal in past would have escaped the justice.

On the contrary, circumstances are of significance, because it defines the motives behind a criminal activity. First of all, in countries plagued by poverty, diseases or famine. Owing to the fact that, governments are failing to provide enough support to the population. Theft is a common crime, as individuals have to provide for their families to survive. Furthermore, in some parts of the world where societies are stricken with injustice, criminals usually get away with the crimes. In response, local people in reaction opt the pathway of crime to bring justice to themselves. Consequently, precipitating criminals that at some stage of life were normal but turned due to the unfair circumstances around them.

To conclude, although crime should never go unpunished. Yet i argue, that their are certain crimes that were committed under immense pressure and strenuous situations. Hence, courts should legislate new laws penalize a criminal on the basis of the motives of the crime. By doing so shortcomings in society would also be clarified in the eyes of law.