Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Watching TV and playing computer games are two of the most important children’s leisure time. Whether this brings the pros or cons for the mental and physical development of children is a database issue. My view is that too much time spent on these surely has negative impacts on kids and parents have to sorf out the appropriate programs for children and curb these activities.

On the one hand, it is obvious that with the deveplopment of science and technology, TV shows and video games are designed so vivid and attractive that it is much easier not only for kids but even for adults to get addicted to them. When children spend more time sitting in front of a screen, they are isolated from the real word. They do not have enough time to socialize, to engage in outdoor activities which are crucial for their physical growth. Also, their eyesight will be weakened by staring at the screen for too long.

On the other hand, questionable contents on TV and computer games will result in unexpected implications on children’s later life. For example, many boys like playing computer shooting games including the most famous one called Counter-Strike. While we are calling for peace world, our kids are, through this game, learning how to use dangerous weapons skillfully, and get used to pulling the trigger without hesitation. No wonder it has been reported that recently one killer of school shooting in the US used to play computer shooting games in his childhood.

In conclusion, spending too much time on watching TV and playing video or computer games is definitely harmful to children. And parents should and must take time, regardless of how busy their schedule is, to guide and supervise these important activities.