Soft skills are important in life, and one of the ways to obtain them is through participating in voluntary society service. Some people argue that high school students should be forced to join this service. However, in my view, it would be better to let the students make their decision in this aspect.

There are many advantages of taking part in unpaid community service that put its compulsion for high school students into consideration. First, it assists students in gaining social skills, such as teamwork, time management, and communication. These skills play a significant role in their college life and future career. Second, participating in charity work or neighborhood improvement creates good conditions for juveniles to earn sympathy for others. As a result, a sense of gratefulness for what they have might be increased, and the youngsters could recognize the importance of trying to be a better individual in the whole community. Thus, it is undeniable that thanks to social activities, adolescents can become more well-rounded as an individual.

On the other hand, there are several reasons that unpaid community service should not be compulsory for high school students. First, the mentioned social skills can absolutely be learned from other activities, such as doing part-time jobs in restaurants or coffee shops. Second, high school is a vital stage of a student, where they have to prepare manifold academic knowledge for competitions and the university entrance exam. If the participation in community activities is obligated, there would be too many pressures putting on these adolescents. Last but not least, there would be many more suitable periods for society service, such as in the summer holiday of secondary school, or during college time. Therefore, juveniles should be free to choose whether to take part in voluntary community service or not.

In conclusion, although the benefits for high school students to joining society service are evident, I show my inclination to the proposal that schools should encourage teenagers to participate in these activities instead of compelling them to do.