Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are convinced that voluntary activities should be obligated for students at high schools. Personally, I partly agree with this view.

For a variety of obvious reasons, I think that volunteers are entitled for gaining more experience in these social activities. First of all, they can learn how to help others when participating in a charitable organization, which also enables them to become a good citizen. Besides, their soft skills will be enhanced significantly throughout the community service once they cooperate with their classmates in any projects, this making them more mature after these years.

However, there are some solid grounds for believing that it should be optional for students to register in this unpaid service. First and foremost, attending these activities is somehow considered to waste students’ time for study. For example, a sports instructor needs to invest his or her time in looking for the best way to teach especially younger children. In the mean time, the instructor may not be good at teaching skills, which ends up with no effective results for both sides. In addition, if students are encouraged to engage in these sociable activities, the school will take its responsibility for supervising them in order to check the effectiveness of the service. Therefore, not only students but teachers or other staff will be involved in this programme, costing another amount of money to the school.

In conclusion, i think that the voluntary activities should be designed as an optional subject to motivate students who want to develop their skills in daily life while they are still studying in high school.